top of page

Confession - Part 1

“Begin.” “Father, I…” “Haven’t been here for a while, right?” “Yeah.” “Well, I’m very happy that you’ve given us another chance. Giving the church another chance. How long since your last confession?” “Three, Father.” “Three years.” “Decades.” “Okay. First. God loves you. He loves you more than you or I can imagine. Don’t have to tell all your sins. Don’t tell any. I don’t think God’s interested in a list of sins. Maybe we can talk?” “It’s been three decades since my last confession. At least.” “Go on.” “I killed somebody.” “Let it all out.”

“Bashed his yuppie skull in. Didn’t know what hit him. I killed two people and they’re just now making the connection. Stupid cops. Read the papers? Watch the news? The Mallet Killer? Killed two in the last year. You don’t believe me, I guess.”

“There’s a saying: Our capacity for sin isn’t greater than God’s capacity to forgive.”

“I read about you. Tough guy priest. Gives boxing lessons to the punks.”

“I can defend myself.”

“Listen to this. Sweating a little, aren’t we? This confession shit does nothing for me. Never did.”

“I need to tell you….”

“Give myself up? Save it. They’ll never catch me. Why? Cause Thursday’s was my last one. I’m going to fade out.”

“I’d stand with you. Make sure you’re not mistreated. Get you help.”

“Yeah, you priests. Always willing to help. ‘Hey father. Got a quarter for an old altar boy?’ Exorcist. Remember that?”

“I can help. I am so sorry about what happened to you. I am so sorry that he hurt you.”

“You feel my pain. Is that it, Padre?”

“No. No, I don’t. I can’t pretend to.”

“You need to hear the whole story then.”

Frank Diamond has 30 years writing and editing experience for newspapers, magazines, and television, and is currently the managing editor of Managed CareMagazine. He has released a novel, The Pilgrim Soul, and a short story collection, Damage Control. He's had hundreds of articles and columns published in outlets including the Philadelphia Inquirer, Philadelphia Daily News and the Philadelphia Bulletin. His short stories have appeared in Innisfree, and Kola: A Black Literary Magazine. He has poetry published in Philadelphia Stories, Fox Chase Review, and Black Bottom Review. He also wrote the Bloom’s Guide (competitor with CliffsNotes) for The Handmaid’s Tale. He lives in Langhorne, Pa., with his wife, Kate, and daughter, Emily.

Featured Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
RSS Feed
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page