top of page

Imaginary Lovers; Imaginary Enemies


"I can’t believe you would barge in like that. We were in the middle of-"

"What?! I live here!"

"Shhh. Keep your voice down. He is still here. He may hear you."

"He can’t hear me. This is ridiculous; we’ve lived together our entire lives."

"Not true. There was that time…"

"Sure. Sure. That time…"

"In Sothby…"

"They wouldn’t let me in there. We’re together again. Why’d you bring that up?"

"Because… We can’t keep doing this."

"Stop. It’s not the time to talk about this. We have a guest."

"Unbelievable. Come back here. I’m not finished."

"Do you like doing that… With him?"

"Don’t ask me that. I hate when you ask me that."

"I don’t understand why you need other people. Aren’t I enough?"

"Hey. You okay?"

"Did I wake you? I’m sorry."

"Who are you talking to out here?"

"No one. Just talking to myself."

"Come back to bed. It’s late."

"I’ll be right there. Just getting some water."

"Don’t be long, okay, babe?"

"Okay."

"Go. Go back. To him, 'babe'."

"I’m sorry. I get lonely."

"I’m with you all the time."

"I want a family. I want a normal life. I can’t have that with you."

"This is what this is all about? When you left Sothby and let me back in, you said you made a decision to give that up."

"People change. I’m changing; I want other things. I want real physical touch. I want to be able to introduce my boyfriend to my friends."

"You don’t have any friends."

"Not the point."

"Who is he anyway? I couldn’t get a good look at his face. Eric from work? I know. It’s that hipster guy with the glasses at the coffee shop. I knew it!"

"It’s none of your business. Can’t I have anything to myself?"

"No. I’m a part of you, remember?"

"I can’t forget it. You won’t let me. I’m going back on meds."

"Don’t. You can’t. I need you. You’ll forget about me again. And remember how crappy you felt: the dizziness, the lethargy?"

"I need to be normal."

"What is normal? That guy is not normal; have you seen his ironic t-shirts that have no irony? That Macaulay Culkin shirt is stupid, not ironic. You want to live with that every day? He doesn’t know you like I do. No one does."

"I know. That’s a problem."

"Do you really need him? When you have me with you all the time? I’ll never leave you. Who knows how long Starbucks glasses is going to stay around? Do you want to be alone again?"

"I am alone."

"You’re not. If you close your eyes, I’m holding you. Close your eyes. Try it."

"No. It’s not the same."

"Try it. You feel me?"

"Yes."

"Isn’t it nice to be held by someone that loves you? That guy in there. He doesn’t love you. Trust me. Remember when they all died? And you were all alone?"

"I was."

"It was me that came and saved you when no one else would. I’ve been with you this entire time. I’ll never leave you. I will always be right here in your mind."

"You will never leave me?"

"No. Never."

"Okay. I like that."

"No meds?"

"No meds."

"It’s better like this. You and me. Forever."

"Forever."

"Hold this knife. There you go. We’ll take care of Starbucks glasses guy together."

"Like old times."

"Yes. Just like that."

Imee Cuison is a freelance writer and software developer based in Charleston, SC. She is also the creative executive for Intrinsic Value Films, an independent film production company. Her work has appeared in literary journals and anthologies such as Fish Food Magazine, Tayo Literary Magazine, and Phatitude Literary Magazine. When not involved in software development, film, or writing, she is an Intensive Care Unit nurse, without which none of this would be possible.

Featured Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
RSS Feed
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page