top of page

One Man’s Heaven (part 2)


"Go ahead and touch to see if there is indeed someone who's being gestured at."

“Afraid I’ll feel something I don’t want to feel.”

“You’re not even curious?”

“Sort of. But not enough to get freaked out.”

“Look how brave I am. My guy just pulled a shiny knife on me; I didn’t even flinch.”

“What?!!”

“Yeah, just like that. Pulled a five-inch blade from his pocket. Began waving it.”

“Maybe we should get out of here.”

“I’m not sure we can. I think we’re locked in. Stuck.”

“What do we do about using the toilet?”

“That’s been taken care of.”

“They sure work out everything. Really thoughtful, don’t you think?”

“Better than some places, but I think you should have a feel back there.”

“Listen, why don’t you take a close look at the back of my arm. Ouch!! See if it’s getting red from being pinched.”

“Sure, if it satisfies you.”

“It will, for the time being.”

“Oh my!”

“What? What do you see? Is it red? Is there a mark?”

“There’s a hole. Your arm looks like a sort of submarine’s periscope.”

“You’ve got to be kidding. All my life I’ve lived on land.”

“Never any ocean trips?”

“No, not even a cruise. Really. Grew up in Iowa. Stayed out of the water.”

“Is it okay to have a look in there? Inside your arm hole?”

“Sure, but can you trust your eyes?”

“To some extent.”

“You don’t seem that certain. Not sure I’d trust them, but be my guest. Have a good look.”

“My God. I may be seeing what no man has ever seen before. Totally uncharted territory.”

“Should we order in champagne? Break out the glasses?”

“I didn’t know you had glasses.”

“They’re available.”

“But let me keep looking. Aren’t you curious to know what I’ve discovered? I’d be, if I were you.”

Susanne Braham holds a B.A. in English and comparative literature from Columbia University’s School of General Studies in New York City and an M.A. in theater education from Emerson College in Boston, MA. Several of her poems have been published in two recent anthologies about widowhood. In addition to other poetry, she has published literary nonfiction and humorous anecdotes; her favorite is online at Clever Magazine.

She has worked in Off and Off-Off Broadway theater as an actress, stage manager, and electrician, and was an elementary school librarian for six years. Having edited for Columbia University for more than 17 years, she has recently retired from full-time employment to rest her eyes.

Featured Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
RSS Feed
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page