top of page

Millennial Breakup


“Did you even love me?”

“Stop texting me.”

“Tell me you never loved me.”

“Of course I loved you, but it’s over.”

“What am I supposed to do about all your relatives who added me on Facebook?”

“Do what you like...”

“Whatever, I’ll just try not to be rude to them.”

“…but please stop posting about our breakup on your wall.”

“That post wasn’t even about you. It was a general expression about toxic relationships.”

“Your friends compared me to garbage…on a public forum.”

“No.”

“Really?”

“No.”

“Kevin Handler wrote: When people turn their back on you, they’re making room in your life for

people who actually matter. Kinda like garbage that takes itself out.”

“I don’t see your name there. Could be anyone.”

“It turned into a goddamned feeding frenzy.”

“People don’t know what they are even talking about.”

“But you liked it!”

“No I didn’t.”

“You literally clicked “Like” on Kevin’s post.”

“He was being supportive.”

“Argh. This is why we broke up.”

“Did you ever love me?”

“Stop texting me.”

“You’re a pig.”

“Stop.”

“YOU ARE…”

“I’m unFriending you.”

“…GARBAGE!”

Theodore Wesenberg is an MFA candidate at Northwestern University and reader for TriQuarterly magazine. He lives in Chicago, where he's working on a novel.

Picture credit to Kasapa.

Featured Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
RSS Feed
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page