top of page

You're so special...


“Welcome! It’s so great to have another mom around to help with snacks, icepacks, and cheering on.”

“Yeah. Thanks. I’m glad to be here. My son has Cerebral Palsy, so this is a big deal for him. He’s always wanted to play baseball.”

“Oh my. Cerebral Palsy. What’s that? He looks normal.”

“He is normal. CP means he had a brain bleed around the time he was born and for him, it means, tightness on the right side of his body. It makes him run with an awkward gait but he has a great attitude so here we are.”

“Wow. I don’t know if I could do it. You know, have a kid with disabilities. You must be a saint. God Bless You!”

“We’re fine. We don’t need to be pitied. If he wasn’t running with a little limp and I didn’t tell you he had CP, you wouldn’t know.”

“Well now, since you are so grateful to be here – you know – after all you’ve been through – maybe you’d be interested in bringing snacks for the team for more than one rotation, to – you know – show your appreciation that we have included him in the team.”

“He got here like everyone else.”

“Sure, whatever you say. You must have had a little extra leeway for his, his ‘condition’.”

“No.”

“Ok. Wonderful. So can I put you down for extra, healthy snacks next week?”

“Sure.”

“Wonderful! Oh, I’m so glad we are including your entire family with all it’s ‘specialness’ in our team’s activities.”

“Fine.”

“What can I put you down that you’ll bring for snacks?”

“Red Bull and Peeps.”

“What, um, yeah, that’s not what I would consider healthy”

“But its special and that’s what we are, right? Special snacks from special people.”

Katrina Campbell is a mom, a teacher, and a freelance writer. She prefers humor writing and button-pushing to just about anything else.

Picture copyrighted by Andy Myer.

Featured Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
RSS Feed
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page