top of page

Gifted


"Hold out your hands, and close your eyes."

"What's this about?"

"It's a surprise. Close your eyes, please."

"Joe, you bought me a gift? How sweet! And unexpected!"

"I've surprised you with stuff before."

"No, not ever. Whatever this is, I'm sure I'll love it even more because you were just thinking of me. Out of the blue, and for no reason."

"It's a reward for your promotion. I'm so proud of you, and it's not just the money. It's a big step,

and you took it, even though you didn't want a travel job. So I got you something for your first trip, something you said you loved."

"You're going to make me cry."

"Don't cry. Just put your hands out and shut your eyes, or I'm not giving it to you. Are you peeking?"

"I'm not peeking, but I'm feeling a little guilty. Oh, Joe, I'm afraid you did something outrageous. Did you buy that purse in the Bloomingdale's window I showed you? Honey, I hope you didn't. It's too expensive! I mean I'd love to have that bag, but it's so decadent."

"It's not that. You can buy any purse for yourself. This is more personal."

"More personal? Oh, my gosh, Joe!"

"Ready? Open your eyes now."

"What...is this?"

"Tah, dah!"

"My big surprise is Hostess cupcakes?"

"I remembered you said you love them. Your favorite travel snack, right?"

"And you ate one of them."

"I forgot how much I like them. And you're right. Those things are perfect to eat in the car. No crumbs anywhere."

"Is this a joke? Is there jewelry hidden in the middle or something?"

"It's just a cupcake."

"A stale cupcake to send me across two states?"

"I'll eat it if you don't want it."

"Go ahead."

"You didn't even say thank you."

"Thank you, Joe. Thank you very, very, very much."

"Are you angry with me?"

"Nope. I'm not angry with you. I think I'm going to get an early start, though."

Tamera Norwood writes fiction for children and adults, and has been published in the Journal of Microliterature.

Featured Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
RSS Feed
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page